Five "Solas" of the Reformation

   In many a Lutheran church a person can find somewhere, someplace, the words - Sola Gratia, Sola Scriptura, Sola Fide. By Grace Alone, By Scripture Alone, and By Faith Alone.  In Black River Falls, we see them on the medallion hanging over the table in the gathering area.  In Cataract, Luther’s seal is in the stained glass. At the seminary that trains our pastors, it is engraved on the cornerstone.  These are not fancy Latin terms simply meant to impress; these solas summarize the message of God’s Word which we Christians hold dearly.

   Sometimes these terms are called the pillars of the Reformation.  That is because during the Reformation, these truths were once again brought to light and allowed to be the center of attention, focusing on what the Lord has accomplished for sinful, fallen mankind. 

   But just how many “solas” are there?  Well, we normally see three; but we could say the Bible encourages us to see two more—Solus Christus or Solo Christo (Christ Alone or Through Christ Alone) and Soli Deo Gloria (Glory to God Alone).

   These five solas articulate five fundamental beliefs of the Christian faith.  In this Bible study we take time to look at and learn what they teach us and why they are valuable to know still today.


Year:      Category:

Subscription Options  

Click on one of the following files to view the available options:

Sort by: Date Title
Answers - Pages 41-43 

Answers - Pages 34-40 

Answers - Pages 29-33 

Answers - Pages 24-28 

Answers - Pages 20-23 

Answers - Pages 15-20 

Answers - Pages 12-14 

Answers - Pages 9-12 

Answers - Pages 4-9 

Answers - Pages 1-4 

Student Study Guide 

...Rooted in Christ...Reaching Out with the Word